Ten Students Inducted into NHS

Monica Stack

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

I pledge to uphold the high purposes of the National Honor Society to which I have been selected;

I will be true to the principles for which it stands;

I will be loyal to my school;

And I will maintain and encourage high standards of scholarship, leadership, service, and character.


On Thursday September 12, ten Montrosians took this pledge and became members of the DeTore Chapter of the National Honor Society. NHS was founded in 1921 as an organization to recognize students who excel in four specific areas: scholarship, leadership, service, and character. It has expanded to include over one million juniors and seniors nationwide. In order to be eligible for application, a student must have a cumulative GPA of 3.6 or higher. At Montrose, eligible candidates must complete an Activity Log with volunteer and co-curricular activities, obtain a letter of recommendation, and write a one-page essay on the four pillars of NHS. Students were notified of their acceptance in late August, and the Induction date was set for September 12th.

(See Bella Sardegna’s article to get a first-hand view of the excitement new inductees felt that night.)

This year’s ceremony included a warm welcome from Miss Cusack, the faculty adviser, followed by speeches from the three current NHS officers, Maggie Fitzgerald (’14), Caroline Strauss (’14), and Dina Roche (’14). Maggie also had the task of lighting four candles, symbols of the four pillars of NHS. Thanks to her quick reflexes, the tablecloth was unharmed when she dropped the match.

After the officers spoke, each Inductee received a yellow rose and an NHS pin. They signed their names in the NHS register and officially became members. The night concluded with desserts and refreshments. And of course, no Montrose event is complete without lots of photo-ops courtesy of Mr. Martell.

This year’s inductees:

Sarah Baker

Laura Bergemann

Maddie Crump

Katie Fair

Emily Melville

Sarah Morrill

Katrin O’Grady

Jess Pink

Elle Schirripa

Monica Stack